ACC announces it will pull divisions from football schedule from 2023 – Bleacher Report

Logan Wheaton / Getty Images

The 2022 ACC football season will be the final year of the conference with the current format of two divisions, ACC announce Tuesday.

Starting in 2023, 14 teams will compete in one division, and the top two teams will meet in the ACC title game. The table will have a 3-5-5 format where each team will have three permanent competitors and five opponents who rotate from year to year.

“ACC’s future football scheduling model provides significant improvements to our schools and conferences, and most importantly, our student-athletes have the opportunity to play in every school either at home or away over a four-year period,” said ACC Commissioner Jim Phillips. a permit.

The ACC had similar coordination during the 2020 season when Notre Dame joined temporarily due to COVID-19 restrictions. Top seed Clemson defeated Notre Dame for the conference title, and avenged a loss earlier in the season.

There has been limited balance in recent seasons in the current form.

Clemson and Florida State — both in the Atlantic Division — have combined to win 10 of the last 11 ACC football titles. Pittsburgh defeated Wake Forest in the 2021 title match, becoming the first coastal division team to win since Virginia Tech in 2010.

The new format could provide more opportunities for other teams to establish themselves with an easier schedule. Although permanent rivalries can still create some imbalance, there will be a better chance of playing each team over the course of two years.

It follows the strategy of other conferences such as the Big 12, Pac-12 and the American Athletic Conference, which have either eliminated divisions or will do so by 2023.

The Big Ten and SEC are the only other two Power Five conferences that the divisions are scheduled to run over the next year.

ACC’s permanent competitions

  • Boston College: Miami, Pete, Syracuse
  • Clemson: Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina State
  • Duke: North Carolina, NC State, Wake Forest
  • Florida: Clemson, Miami, Syracuse
  • Georgia Tech: Clemson, Louisville, Wake Forest
  • Louisville: Georgia Tech, Miami, Virginia
  • Miami: Boston College, Florida State, Louisville
  • North Carolina: Duke, NC State, Virginia
  • North Carolina: Clemson, Duke, North Carolina
  • House: Boston College, Syracuse, Virginia Tech
  • Syracuse: Boston College, Florida State, home
  • Virginia: Louisville, North Carolina, Virginia Tech
  • Virginia Tech: Pete, Virginia, Wake Forest
  • Wake Forest: Duke, Georgia Tech, Virginia Tech

#ACC #announces #pull #divisions #football #schedule #Bleacher #Report

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *